Plan Ledger DOL Form 5500 · updated monthly

Target Corporation401(k) + ESOP (KSOP)

TARGET CORPORATION 401(K) PLAN · BROOKLYN PARK, MN · plan year 2024

Employer contribution per participant · 2024
$894

Target Corporation's 2024 Form 5500 did not separately report plan administrative expenses, which is common where recordkeeping is paid through investment revenue-sharing or a master trust. The plan held $14,411,303,076 across 219,259 participant accounts, with employer contributions averaging $894 per active participant. See methodology for what Form 5500 does and doesn't capture.

The plan sits in the over $1B size bracket, benchmarked here against 1,229 comparable plans and shown alongside other retail trade employers. By assets it is the 3rd-largest of 1,918 plans among Minnesota employers on file, and the 6th of 5,215 in retail trade. In 2024, employees put in $1.65 for every $1.00 the employer contributed.

Plan summary
Net assets, end of year$14,411,303,076
Participants with balances219,259
Active participants427,999
Employer contributions$382,473,638
Employee contributions$631,153,718
Employer contribution per active participant$894
Average account balance$65,727
Benefits paid to participants$1,153,085,994
Plan auditUnmodified (clean) audit opinion
Plan history3
Yearassets · accounts · employer contribution
2024$14.4B · 219,259 accts · $382.5M emplr
2023$13.0B · 212,664 accts · $356.5M emplr
2022$11.2B · 210,824 accts · $346.4M emplr
The Target Corporation 401(k) match · 2024
Employer contribution per active participant$894
Median for plans this size$5,259
2024$894 per active participant
2023$885 per active participant
2022$810 per active participant

Target Corporation's 2024 employer contribution ran below the $5,259 median for plans its size, in the bottom quarter of its peers. Filings report dollars actually contributed, not the match formula; the formula itself (for example, 50% of the first 6% of pay) lives in the plan's summary plan description from HR.

Administrative cost history3
2024Not separately reported
2023Not separately reported
2022Not separately reported
Same employer
Similar plansRetail Trade · Minnesota
CVS Health Corporation RI$30.1B · 0.15%
The Home Depot, Inc. GA$15.7B · 0.14%
Walgreen Co. IL$14.5B · 0.03%
The Kroger Co. OH$11.8B · 0.03%
Sap America, Inc. PA$9.2B · 0.05%
Lowes Companies Inc NC$8.6B · 0.01%

Why are you looking at this plan?

Compare

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Form 5500 series, EIN 410215170 · Verify on EFAST2 · Amounts are as reported by the plan sponsor for the plan year shown.