Plan Ledger DOL Form 5500 · updated monthly

Kao America Inc.401(k)

KAO AMERICA INC. 401(K) SAVINGS PLAN · CINCINNATI, OH · plan year 2024

Employer contribution per participant · 2024
$4,104

Kao America Inc.'s 2024 Form 5500 did not separately report plan administrative expenses, which is common where recordkeeping is paid through investment revenue-sharing or a master trust. The plan held $314,240,730 across 1,725 participant accounts, with employer contributions averaging $4,104 per active participant. See methodology for what Form 5500 does and doesn't capture.

The plan sits in the $250M–$1B size bracket, benchmarked here against 2,883 comparable plans and shown alongside other manufacturing employers. By assets it is the 150th-largest of 3,295 plans among Ohio employers on file, and the 824th of 13,661 in manufacturing. In 2024, employees put in $2.30 for every $1.00 the employer contributed.

Plan summary
Net assets, end of year$314,240,730
Participants with balances1,725
Active participants1,403
Employer contributions$5,757,385
Employee contributions$13,221,485
Employer contribution per active participant$4,104
Average account balance$182,169
Benefits paid to participants$28,399,071
Plan auditUnmodified (clean) audit opinion
AuditorCROWE LLP
Plan history3
Yearassets · accounts · employer contribution
2024$314.2M · 1,725 accts · $5.8M emplr
2023$277.8M · 1,662 accts · $5.4M emplr
2022$231.3M · 1,676 accts · $5.4M emplr
Administrative expenses, itemized · 2024
Investment management$87,129
Audit (IQPA)$22,050
Total administrative-$57,379
The Kao America Inc. 401(k) match · 2024
Employer contribution per active participant$4,104
Median for plans this size$4,294
2024$4,104 per active participant
2023$4,103 per active participant
2022$4,065 per active participant

Kao America Inc.'s 2024 employer contribution ran below the $4,294 median for plans its size. Filings report dollars actually contributed, not the match formula; the formula itself (for example, 50% of the first 6% of pay) lives in the plan's summary plan description from HR.

Service providers · 20244
NEPC LLC · Investment advisory (plan)$87,129
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS SOLUTIONS CONSUL · Consulting$26,624
CROWE LLP · Accounting / audit$22,050
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL · Loan processingindirect comp

Compensation shown is direct payments from plan assets reported on Schedule C. Providers paid through fund revenue-sharing appear as indirect.

Administrative cost history3
2024Not separately reported
2023Not separately reported
2022Not separately reported
Same employer
Similar plansManufacturing · Ohio
Sauder Woodworking Co. OH$335.5M · 0.01%
Hexion Inc. OH$317.4M · 0.09%
Trico Group, LLC OH$302.9M · 0.22%
Proampac Holdings Inc. OH$298.6M · 0.22%
Tarkett Finance Inc. OH$286.6M · 0.17%
Vibrantz Corporation OH$253.2M · 0.06%

Why are you looking at this plan?

Compare

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Form 5500 series, EIN 522064483 · Verify on EFAST2 · Amounts are as reported by the plan sponsor for the plan year shown.