Plan Ledger DOL Form 5500 · updated monthly

Thomas Jefferson University403(b)

JEFFERSON DEFINED CONTRIBUTION RETIREMENT PLAN · PHILADELPHIA, PA · plan year 2024

Employer contribution per participant · 2024
$3,637

Thomas Jefferson University's 2024 Form 5500 did not separately report plan administrative expenses, which is common where recordkeeping is paid through investment revenue-sharing or a master trust. The plan held $2,792,479,411 across 30,635 participant accounts, with employer contributions averaging $3,637 per active participant. See methodology for what Form 5500 does and doesn't capture.

The plan sits in the over $1B size bracket, benchmarked here against 1,229 comparable plans and shown alongside other educational services employers. By assets it is the 28th-largest of 3,651 plans among Pennsylvania employers on file, and the 21st of 3,091 in educational services. In 2024, employees put in $1.30 for every $1.00 the employer contributed; active participation has grown from 15,783 to 18,283 since 2022.

Plan summary
Net assets, end of year$2,792,479,411
Participants with balances30,635
Active participants18,283
Employer contributions$66,488,715
Employee contributions$86,224,506
Employer contribution per active participant$3,637
Average account balance$91,153
Benefits paid to participants$139,834,320
Plan auditUnmodified (clean) audit opinion
Plan history3
Yearassets · accounts · employer contribution
2024$2.8B · 30,635 accts · $66.5M emplr
2023$2.5B · 27,996 accts · $61.6M emplr
2022$2.1B · 25,825 accts · $53.4M emplr
Employer contributions to the Thomas Jefferson University plan · 2024
Employer contribution per active participant$3,637
Median for plans this size$5,259
2024$3,637 per active participant
2023$3,519 per active participant
2022$3,386 per active participant

Thomas Jefferson University's 2024 employer contribution ran below the $5,259 median for plans its size. Filings report dollars actually contributed, not the match formula; the formula itself (for example, 50% of the first 6% of pay) lives in the plan's summary plan description from HR.

Service providers · 20242
TIAA- TEACHERS INSURANCE & ANNUITY · Contract administrator$1,130,528
TOWERS WATSON DELAWARE, INC · Consulting$15,152

Compensation shown is direct payments from plan assets reported on Schedule C. Providers paid through fund revenue-sharing appear as indirect.

Administrative cost history3
2024Not separately reported
2023Not separately reported
2022Not separately reported
Same employer
Similar plansEducational Services · Pennsylvania
Drexel University PA$1.8B · 0.08%
Villanova University PA$1.2B · 0.03%
Lehigh University PA$1.0B · 0.12%
Bucknell University PA$672.9M · 0.06%

Why are you looking at this plan?

Compare

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Form 5500 series, EIN 231352651 · Verify on EFAST2 · Amounts are as reported by the plan sponsor for the plan year shown.