Plan Ledger DOL Form 5500 · updated monthly

Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP401(k)

SIMPSON, THACHER & BARTLETT PROFIT SHARING PLAN FOR PARTNERS AND NON LEGAL EMPLOYEES · NEW YORK, NY · plan year 2024

Employer contribution per participant · 2024
$6,819

Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP's 2024 Form 5500 did not separately report plan administrative expenses, which is common where recordkeeping is paid through investment revenue-sharing or a master trust. The plan held $455,843,983 across 1,391 participant accounts, with employer contributions averaging $6,819 per active participant. See methodology for what Form 5500 does and doesn't capture.

The plan sits in the $250M–$1B size bracket, benchmarked here against 2,883 comparable plans and shown alongside other professional & technical services employers. By assets it is the 238th-largest of 5,648 plans among New York employers on file, and the 385th of 11,654 in professional & technical services. In 2024, employees put in $1.80 for every $1.00 the employer contributed; active participation has grown from 932 to 1,141 since 2022.

Plan summary
Net assets, end of year$455,843,983
Participants with balances1,391
Active participants1,141
Employer contributions$7,781,013
Employee contributions$13,970,198
Employer contribution per active participant$6,819
Average account balance$327,710
Benefits paid to participants$30,869,121
Plan auditUnmodified (clean) audit opinion
AuditorANCHIN, BLOCK & ANCHIN LLP
Plan history3
Yearassets · accounts · employer contribution
2024$455.8M · 1,391 accts · $7.8M emplr
2023$385.3M · 1,305 accts · $6.7M emplr
2022$329.5M · 1,239 accts · $5.7M emplr
The Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP 401(k) match · 2024
Employer contribution per active participant$6,819
Median for plans this size$4,294
2024$6,819 per active participant
2023$6,820 per active participant
2022$6,151 per active participant

Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP's 2024 employer contribution ran above the $4,294 median for plans its size. Filings report dollars actually contributed, not the match formula; the formula itself (for example, 50% of the first 6% of pay) lives in the plan's summary plan description from HR.

Administrative cost history3
2024Not separately reported
2023Not separately reported
2022Not separately reported
All plans at this employer3
SIMPSON, THACHER & BARTLETT PROFIT SHARING PLAN FOR PARTNERS AND NON LEGAL EMPLOYEES401(k)
SIMPSON, THACHER & BARTLETT LLP CASH OR DEFERRED PLAN FOR SENIOR COUNSEL, COUNSEL & ASSOCIATES401(k)
SIMPSON, THACHER AND BARTLETT LLP SUPPLEMENTAL PROFIT SHARING PLAN FOR PARTNERSProfit-sharing plan
Same employer
Similar plansProfessional & Technical Services · New York
Milbank LLP NY$521.4M · 0.01%
Skanska USA Inc. NY$500.7M · 0.06%
Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. NY$468.6M · 0.06%
Kelley Drye & Warren LLP NY$442.3M · 0.05%

Why are you looking at this plan?

Compare

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Form 5500 series, EIN 135395280 · Verify on EFAST2 · Amounts are as reported by the plan sponsor for the plan year shown.