Plan Ledger DOL Form 5500 · updated monthly

Houchens Industries, Inc.ESOP

HOUCHENS INDUSTRIES, INC. EMPLOYEE STOCK OWNERSHIP PLAN · BOWLING GREEN, KY · plan year 2024

Employer contribution per participant · 2024
$5,396

Houchens Industries, Inc.'s 2024 Form 5500 did not separately report plan administrative expenses, which is common where recordkeeping is paid through investment revenue-sharing or a master trust. The plan held $2,226,409,051 across 19,746 participant accounts, with employer contributions averaging $5,396 per active participant. See methodology for what Form 5500 does and doesn't capture.

The plan sits in the over $1B size bracket, benchmarked here against 1,229 comparable plans and shown alongside other retail trade employers. By assets it is the 5th-largest of 871 plans among Kentucky employers on file, and the 30th of 5,215 in retail trade. active participation has grown from 6,764 to 8,218 since 2022.

Plan summary
Net assets, end of year$2,226,409,051
Participants with balances19,746
Active participants8,218
Employer contributions$44,344,519
Employee contributions—
Employer contribution per active participant$5,396
Average account balance$112,752
Benefits paid to participants$115,319,222
Plan auditUnmodified (clean) audit opinion
Plan history3
Yearassets · accounts · employer contribution
2024$2.2B · 19,746 accts · $44.3M emplr
2023$2.0B · 19,422 accts · $36.5M emplr
2022$1.8B · 18,475 accts · $31.8M emplr
Employer contributions to the Houchens Industries, Inc. plan · 2024
Employer contribution per active participant$5,396
Median for plans this size$5,259
2024$5,396 per active participant
2023$4,689 per active participant
2022$4,696 per active participant

Houchens Industries, Inc.'s 2024 employer contribution ran above the $5,259 median for plans its size. Filings report dollars actually contributed, not the match formula; the formula itself (for example, 50% of the first 6% of pay) lives in the plan's summary plan description from HR.

Administrative cost history3
2024Not separately reported
2023Not separately reported
2022Not separately reported
Same employer
Similar plansRetail Trade · Kentucky
Gap Inc. CA$2.6B · 0.06%
Whole Foods Market, Inc. TX$2.4B · 0.19%
Cdw LLC IL$2.3B · 0.03%
Kohl's Inc. WI$2.3B
Penney Opco, LLC TX$2.2B · 0.06%
Aldi Inc. IL$2.1B · 0.11%
Ebay Inc. CA$2.0B · 0.01%

Why are you looking at this plan?

Compare

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Form 5500 series, EIN 202505350 · Verify on EFAST2 · Amounts are as reported by the plan sponsor for the plan year shown.