Plan Ledger DOL Form 5500 · updated monthly

A O Smith Corporation401(k)

A O SMITH RETIREMENT SECURITY PLAN · MILWAUKEE, WI · plan year 2024

Employer contribution per participant · 2024
$2,322

A O Smith Corporation's 2024 Form 5500 did not separately report plan administrative expenses, which is common where recordkeeping is paid through investment revenue-sharing or a master trust. The plan held $617,703,307 across 6,051 participant accounts, with employer contributions averaging $2,322 per active participant. See methodology for what Form 5500 does and doesn't capture.

The plan sits in the $250M–$1B size bracket, benchmarked here against 2,883 comparable plans and shown alongside other manufacturing employers. By assets it is the 59th-largest of 1,936 plans among Wisconsin employers on file, and the 490th of 13,661 in manufacturing. In 2024, employees put in $2.21 for every $1.00 the employer contributed.

Plan summary
Net assets, end of year$617,703,307
Participants with balances6,051
Active participants4,854
Employer contributions$11,268,618
Employee contributions$24,919,997
Employer contribution per active participant$2,322
Average account balance$102,083
Benefits paid to participants$68,918,435
Plan auditUnmodified (clean) audit opinion
Plan history3
Yearassets · accounts · employer contribution
2024$617.7M · 6,051 accts · $11.3M emplr
2023$582.7M · 5,966 accts · $16.7M emplr
2022$508.9M · 5,751 accts · $14.8M emplr
The A O Smith Corporation 401(k) match · 2024
Employer contribution per active participant$2,322
Median for plans this size$4,294
2024$2,322 per active participant
2023$3,450 per active participant
2022$3,181 per active participant

A O Smith Corporation's 2024 employer contribution ran below the $4,294 median for plans its size, in the bottom quarter of its peers. Filings report dollars actually contributed, not the match formula; the formula itself (for example, 50% of the first 6% of pay) lives in the plan's summary plan description from HR.

Administrative cost history3
2024Not separately reported
2023Not separately reported
2022Not separately reported
Same employer
Similar plansManufacturing · Wisconsin
Menasha Corporation WI$692.6M · 0.06%
Regal Rexnord Corporation WI$656.4M · 0.07%
Saputo Cheese USA Inc. WI$649.9M · 0.08%
Kerry Inc. WI$604.2M · 0.16%
Waupaca Foundry, Inc. WI$598.5M · 0.08%
Greenheck Fan Corporation WI$578.9M · 0.11%

Why are you looking at this plan?

Compare

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Form 5500 series, EIN 390619790 · Verify on EFAST2 · Amounts are as reported by the plan sponsor for the plan year shown.