Plan Ledger DOL Form 5500 · updated monthly

Transalta USA, Inc.401(k)

TRANSALTA RETIREMENT SAVINGS PLAN · CENTRALIA, WA · plan year 2024

Employer contribution per participant · 2024
$7,908

Transalta USA, Inc.'s 2024 Form 5500 did not separately report plan administrative expenses, which is common where recordkeeping is paid through investment revenue-sharing or a master trust. The plan held $86,687,550 across 291 participant accounts, with employer contributions averaging $7,908 per active participant. See methodology for what Form 5500 does and doesn't capture.

The plan sits in the $50M–$250M size bracket, benchmarked here against 10,352 comparable plans and shown alongside other utilities employers. By assets it is the 208th-largest of 1,714 plans among Washington employers on file, and the 138th of 412 in utilities. In 2024, employees put in $1.49 for every $1.00 the employer contributed; active participation has grown from 165 to 201 since 2022.

Plan summary
Net assets, end of year$86,687,550
Participants with balances291
Active participants201
Employer contributions$1,589,545
Employee contributions$2,362,120
Employer contribution per active participant$7,908
Average account balance$297,895
Benefits paid to participants$11,497,733
Plan auditUnmodified (clean) audit opinion
Plan history3
Yearassets · accounts · employer contribution
2024$86.7M · 291 accts · $1.6M emplr
2023$79.2M · 286 accts · $1.5M emplr
2022$67.9M · 274 accts · $1.3M emplr
Administrative expenses, itemized · 2024
Investment management$8,157
Total administrative-$14,534
The Transalta USA, Inc. 401(k) match · 2024
Employer contribution per active participant$7,908
Median for plans this size$3,635
2024$7,908 per active participant
2023$8,499 per active participant
2022$8,132 per active participant

Transalta USA, Inc.'s 2024 employer contribution ran above the $3,635 median for plans its size, placing it in the top quarter of its peers. Filings report dollars actually contributed, not the match formula; the formula itself (for example, 50% of the first 6% of pay) lives in the plan's summary plan description from HR.

Service providers · 20242
STRATEGIC ADVISORS, INC. · Investment advisory (plan)$8,157
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL · Loan processingindirect comp

Compensation shown is direct payments from plan assets reported on Schedule C. Providers paid through fund revenue-sharing appear as indirect.

Administrative cost history3
2024Not separately reported
2023Not separately reported
2022Not separately reported
Same employer
Similar plansUtilities · Washington
Puget Sound Energy, Inc. WA$1.3B · 0.01%
Avista Corporation WA$843.5M · 0.10%
Naes Corporation WA$643.7M · 0.10%
Connexus Energy MN$94.2M · 0.00%
Cameron Lng LLC TX$93.4M · 0.11%

Why are you looking at this plan?

Compare

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Form 5500 series, EIN 980220829 · Verify on EFAST2 · Amounts are as reported by the plan sponsor for the plan year shown.