Plan Ledger DOL Form 5500 · updated monthly

Murphy Oil Corporation401(k)

THE MURPHY OIL CORPORATION 401(K) PLAN · HOUSTON, TX · plan year 2024

Employer contribution per participant · 2024
$9,003

Murphy Oil Corporation's 2024 Form 5500 did not separately report plan administrative expenses, which is common where recordkeeping is paid through investment revenue-sharing or a master trust. The plan held $216,683,376 across 1,054 participant accounts, with employer contributions averaging $9,003 per active participant. See methodology for what Form 5500 does and doesn't capture.

The plan sits in the $50M–$250M size bracket, benchmarked here against 10,352 comparable plans and shown alongside other manufacturing employers. By assets it is the 372nd-largest of 5,688 plans among Texas employers on file, and the 1,100th of 13,661 in manufacturing. In 2024, employees put in $1.52 for every $1.00 the employer contributed.

Plan summary
Net assets, end of year$216,683,376
Participants with balances1,054
Active participants693
Employer contributions$6,238,929
Employee contributions$9,453,839
Employer contribution per active participant$9,003
Average account balance$205,582
Benefits paid to participants$26,808,351
Plan auditUnmodified (clean) audit opinion
Plan history3
Yearassets · accounts · employer contribution
2024$216.7M · 1,054 accts · $6.2M emplr
2023$204.2M · 1,045 accts · $5.7M emplr
2022$187.0M · 1,062 accts · $5.3M emplr
Administrative expenses, itemized · 2024
Investment management$10,357
Total administrative-$122,107
The Murphy Oil Corporation 401(k) match · 2024
Employer contribution per active participant$9,003
Median for plans this size$3,635
2024$9,003 per active participant
2023$8,264 per active participant
2022$8,136 per active participant

Murphy Oil Corporation's 2024 employer contribution ran above the $3,635 median for plans its size, placing it in the top quarter of its peers. Filings report dollars actually contributed, not the match formula; the formula itself (for example, 50% of the first 6% of pay) lives in the plan's summary plan description from HR.

Service providers · 20242
STRATEGIC ADVISORS, INC. · Investment advisory (plan)$10,357
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL · Loan processingindirect comp

Compensation shown is direct payments from plan assets reported on Schedule C. Providers paid through fund revenue-sharing appear as indirect.

Administrative cost history3
2024Not separately reported
2023Not separately reported
2022Not separately reported
Same employer
Similar plansManufacturing · Texas
Alamo Group Inc. TX$228.5M · 0.15%
Cvr Services, LLC TX$226.1M · 0.04%
Martin Sprocket & Gear, Inc. TX$226.0M · 0.42%
Si Group, Inc. TX$218.3M · 0.12%
Techline, Inc. TX$214.5M
Americas Styrenics LLC TX$213.8M · 0.06%
Mavenir Systems, Inc. TX$208.5M · 0.21%
Ch Guenther TX$205.6M · 0.14%

Why are you looking at this plan?

Compare

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Form 5500 series, EIN 710361522 · Verify on EFAST2 · Amounts are as reported by the plan sponsor for the plan year shown.