Plan Ledger DOL Form 5500 · updated monthly

Iowa State University Foundation403(b)

IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION DEFINED CONTRIBUTION RETIREMENT PLAN · AMES, IA · plan year 2024

Employer contribution per participant · 2024
$8,027

Iowa State University Foundation's 2024 Form 5500 did not separately report plan administrative expenses, which is common where recordkeeping is paid through investment revenue-sharing or a master trust. The plan held $50,419,204 across 348 participant accounts, with employer contributions averaging $8,027 per active participant. See methodology for what Form 5500 does and doesn't capture.

The plan sits in the $10M–$50M size bracket, benchmarked here against 27,838 comparable plans and shown alongside other educational services employers. By assets it is the 190th-largest of 878 plans among Iowa employers on file, and the 905th of 3,091 in educational services. In 2024, the employer put in $1.23 for every $1.00 employees contributed themselves; active participation has grown from 177 to 204 since 2022.

Plan summary
Net assets, end of year$50,419,204
Participants with balances348
Active participants204
Employer contributions$1,637,603
Employee contributions$1,327,729
Employer contribution per active participant$8,027
Average account balance$144,883
Benefits paid to participants$2,082,471
Plan auditDisclaimer of opinion
Plan history3
Yearassets · accounts · employer contribution
2024$50.4M · 348 accts · $1.6M emplr
2023$44.4M · 311 accts · $1.5M emplr
2022$37.6M · 298 accts · $1.3M emplr
Employer contributions to the Iowa State University Foundation plan · 2024
Employer contribution per active participant$8,027
Median for plans this size$2,416
2024$8,027 per active participant
2023$8,400 per active participant
2022$7,580 per active participant

Iowa State University Foundation's 2024 employer contribution ran above the $2,416 median for plans its size, placing it in the top quarter of its peers. Filings report dollars actually contributed, not the match formula; the formula itself (for example, 50% of the first 6% of pay) lives in the plan's summary plan description from HR.

Service providers · 20241
CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLP · Accounting / audit$6,000

Compensation shown is direct payments from plan assets reported on Schedule C. Providers paid through fund revenue-sharing appear as indirect.

Administrative cost history3
2024Not separately reported
2023Not separately reported
2022Not separately reported
Same employer
Similar plansEducational Services · Iowa
Dordt University IA$61.2M · 0.00%
Northwestern College IA$53.0M · 0.26%
Upper Iowa University IA$48.8M · 0.03%
Clarke University IA$40.4M · 0.17%
Briar Cliff University IA$28.6M · 0.14%
William Penn University IA$28.2M · 0.21%

Why are you looking at this plan?

Compare

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Form 5500 series, EIN 421143702 · Verify on EFAST2 · Amounts are as reported by the plan sponsor for the plan year shown.