Plan Ledger DOL Form 5500 · updated monthly

Great River Energy401(k)

GREAT RIVER ENERGY 401(K) RETIREMENT PLAN · MAPLE GROVE, MN · plan year 2024

Employer contribution per participant · 2024
$16,112

Great River Energy's 2024 Form 5500 did not separately report plan administrative expenses, which is common where recordkeeping is paid through investment revenue-sharing or a master trust. The plan held $457,972,513 across 939 participant accounts, with employer contributions averaging $16,112 per active participant. See methodology for what Form 5500 does and doesn't capture.

The plan sits in the $250M–$1B size bracket, benchmarked here against 2,883 comparable plans and shown alongside other utilities employers. By assets it is the 91st-largest of 1,918 plans among Minnesota employers on file, and the 68th of 412 in utilities. In 2024, the employer put in $1.04 for every $1.00 employees contributed themselves; active participation has grown from 596 to 665 since 2022.

Plan summary
Net assets, end of year$457,972,513
Participants with balances939
Active participants665
Employer contributions$10,714,368
Employee contributions$10,322,703
Employer contribution per active participant$16,112
Average account balance$487,724
Benefits paid to participants$36,104,963
Plan auditUnmodified (clean) audit opinion
Plan history3
Yearassets · accounts · employer contribution
2024$458.0M · 939 accts · $10.7M emplr
2023$410.1M · 916 accts · $9.8M emplr
2022$374.1M · 932 accts · $10.9M emplr
The Great River Energy 401(k) match · 2024
Employer contribution per active participant$16,112
Median for plans this size$4,294
2024$16,112 per active participant
2023$15,570 per active participant
2022$18,311 per active participant

Great River Energy's 2024 employer contribution ran above the $4,294 median for plans its size, placing it in the top quarter of its peers. Filings report dollars actually contributed, not the match formula; the formula itself (for example, 50% of the first 6% of pay) lives in the plan's summary plan description from HR.

Service providers · 20241
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL · Loan processingindirect comp

Compensation shown is direct payments from plan assets reported on Schedule C. Providers paid through fund revenue-sharing appear as indirect.

Administrative cost history3
2024Not separately reported
2023Not separately reported
2022Not separately reported
Same employer
Similar plansUtilities · Minnesota
Xcel Energy Inc MN$3.5B · 0.05%
Allete, Inc. MN$605.7M · 0.10%
Connexus Energy MN$94.2M · 0.00%
Dakota Electric Association MN$75.4M · 0.08%
Ever Green Energy, Inc. MN$32.7M · 0.19%

Why are you looking at this plan?

Compare

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Form 5500 series, EIN 411924988 · Verify on EFAST2 · Amounts are as reported by the plan sponsor for the plan year shown.