Plan Ledger DOL Form 5500 · updated monthly

Coterra Energy Inc.401(k)

COTERRA ENERGY INC. RETIREMENT SAVINGS PLAN · HOUSTON, TX · plan year 2025

Reported admin expense ratio · 2025
0.02%

Peer grade: A · admin costs + employer contributions vs same-size plans · how grading works

Coterra Energy Inc. reported $87,586 in plan administrative expenses for 2025: 0.02% of average plan assets, lower than ~75% of peers. Employer contributions averaged $25,723 per active participant. This ratio covers administrative expenses reported on the plan's Schedule H only; fund-level expense ratios are not included in public structured data — see methodology.

Across the 1 year on file its reported administrative ratio rose from 0.01% to 0.02%. The plan sits in the $250M–$1B size bracket, benchmarked here against 230 comparable plans and shown alongside other mining, oil & gas extraction employers. By assets it is the 194th-largest of 5,688 plans among Texas employers on file, and the 31st of 612 in mining, oil & gas extraction. In 2025, the employer put in $2.05 for every $1.00 employees contributed themselves; active participation has shrunk from 1,327 to 1,063 since 2022.

Plan summary
Net assets, end of year$534,429,162
Participants with balances1,606
Active participants1,063
Employer contributions$27,343,723
Employee contributions$13,331,584
Employer contribution per active participant$25,723
Average account balance$332,770
Benefits paid to participants$43,625,229
Plan auditUnmodified (clean) audit opinion
Plan history4
Yearassets · accounts · employer contribution
2025$534.4M · 1,606 accts · $27.3M emplr
2024$442.8M · 1,388 accts · $24.2M emplr
2023$385.4M · 1,406 accts · $23.4M emplr
2022$118.1M · 526 accts · $6.9M emplr
Administrative expenses, itemized · 2025
Investment management$99,187
Total administrative$87,586
The Coterra Energy Inc. 401(k) match · 2025
Employer contribution per active participant$25,723
Median for plans this size$4,295
2025$25,723 per active participant
2024$26,673 per active participant
2023$18,409 per active participant
2022$5,181 per active participant

Coterra Energy Inc.'s 2025 employer contribution ran above the $4,295 median for plans its size, placing it in the top quarter of its peers. Filings report dollars actually contributed, not the match formula; the formula itself (for example, 50% of the first 6% of pay) lives in the plan's summary plan description from HR.

What these fees cost you

Annual cost at the plan's reported 2025 administrative ratio, against the median plan its size; fund expense ratios are extra. Compare any plan.

Service providers · 20252
STRATEGIC ADVISORS, INC. · Investment advisory (plan)$99,187
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL · Loan processingindirect comp

Compensation shown is direct payments from plan assets reported on Schedule C. Providers paid through fund revenue-sharing appear as indirect.

Administrative cost history4
2025$87,586 · 0.02%
2024$41,515 · 0.01%
2023Not separately reported
2022Not separately reported
Same employer
Similar plansMining, Oil & Gas Extraction · Texas
Championx LLC TX$724.1M · 0.06%
Apache Corporation TX$715.3M · 0.03%
Patterson-Uti Energy, Inc TX$613.0M · 0.09%
Hunt Consolidated, Inc. TX$415.0M · 0.06%
Nabors Industries, Inc. TX$370.9M · 0.02%
Noble Services Company LLC TX$344.2M · 0.07%

Why are you looking at this plan?

Compare

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Form 5500 series, EIN 043072771 · Verify on EFAST2 · Amounts are as reported by the plan sponsor for the plan year shown.